2017 Finalists


Finalists of the 2017 Parsec Awards

The Parsec Awards Committee is very excited to announce the 2017 Finalists for the Parsec Award for excellence in speculative fiction podcasting.  These podcasts have made it through the nomination, the first round judging process and are on their way to finalist judging by our elite panel of judges from the worlds of entertainment, writing and publishing.


Those select few whose creativity and technical competence rise above the crowd and impress our judges will receive the coveted Parsec Award at the gala ceremony, which will stream online in November of  2017.

Without further ado, here are your Parsec Award finalists for 2017:


Best Speculative Fiction Comedy/Parody Podcast

Kakos Industries by Conrad Miszuk

Are You Scared of These Stories? by Robert Hibbs, Robbie Owens, & Josh Jenkins

Wynabego Warrior The Tale of John Waynnabe by Audioblivious Productions

Nerdy Show: Nerdcasting the Multiverse: Thanksgiving Special

by The Nerdy Show Network

GnomeMatter: Cadavorue & Macoy in 2016  by Susan C. Tolly & Cary Michael Ayers

Star Wars Best in Galaxy Season 3 by Mark Restuccia & Patch Hyde


Best Podcast about Speculative Fiction Content Creation

Two Gay Geeks by Keith Lane & Ben Ragunton

Lightning Dogs: The Official Paw’dcast by The Nerdy Show Network

Audio Drama Production Podcast by Fiona Thraille & Sarah Golding

Stage Nine by Mike Schindler & John Mills

Calliope Writing Coach Podcast by Angie Fenimore

& Michael Sheen (Dandelion Productions)


Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (Specific)

Trek Geeks: A Star Trek Podcast  by Dan Davidson & Bill Smith

Back to the Future Minute by Scott Carelli & Nick Jimenez

Beyond Westworld by Aaron Peterson & Troy Heinritz

Aggressive Negotiations: A Star Wars Podcast by John Mills & Matt Rushing

Mission Log: A Roddenberry Star Trek Podcast by John Champion & Ken Ray


Best Speculative Fiction Magazine or Anthology Podcast

Seminar by Pendant Productions

The Theatre of Tomorrow by Travis McMaster & Mark Whitten

Escape Pod by Escape Artists

Brick Moon Fiction published by Jason T. Reed

The Wicked Library by Daniel Foytik & Nelson W. Pyles


Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General)

Nutty Bites by Nuchtchas

Piper’s Picks TV by Piper Reese & Adam Feinsilver

The 602 Club by Matthew Rushing

The Faculty of Horror by Andrea Subissati & Alexandra West

MegaPodTastic by Krazy Joe


Best Fact Behind the Fiction Podcast

Universe Today’s Guide to Space by Fraser Cain

Planetary Radio by Mat Kaplan, The Planetary Society

Meta Treks: A Star Trek Philosophy Podcast by Zachary Fruhling & Mike Morrison

Talk Nerdy by Cara Santa Maria

decipherSciFi by Christopher Peterson & Lee Colbert


Best Speculative Fiction Video Story

Grant’s Advent Calendar by Grant Baciocco

The Uncle Interloper Show by Grant Baciocco

Country Bear Collector Show by Grant Baciocco


Best New Speculative Fiction Podcaster/Team

Beyond Westworld by Aaron Peterson and Troy Heinritz

MarsCorp by Definitely Human

Synesthesia Theatre by Burning Brigid Media

Lesser Gods by Colleen Scriven

Aural Traditions: Crosswired by Straight Talk Entertainment


Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form)

The Byron Chronicles by Eric L. Busby

MarsCorp by Definitely Human

Radio Icebox Season 02: Rise of the Sirens by Jeffrey Adams

We’re Alive: Lockdown by Wayland Productions

Uncanny County by Todd Faulkner, Alison Crane, & Nicole Greevy

Our Fair City by Clayton Feits


Best Speculative Fiction Story: Large Cast (Short Form)

Return Home – “Hooves in the Dirt” by Jeff Heimbuch

Return Home – “Genie” by Maia Brown-Jackson

The Voice of Free Planet X – “A Good Guy With A Magic Sword” by Jared Axelrod

Suspense – “The Black Madonna” by John C. Alsedek & Dana Perry-Hayes,

from the short story by Harold Lawlor

Suspense – “Jinx of the Jellicoe Jasper” by John C. Alsedek & Dana Perry-Hayes


Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Long Form)

The Black: Outbreak by Paul Elard Cooley

The Adventures of Elizabeth Crowne – “The Woman in the Sky” by Robert Isenberg

The Raven and the Writing Desk – “Things Unseen” by Chris Lester

Sable by Lane Lloyd

The Alien Adventures of Finn Caspian by Jonathan Messinger


Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Short Form)

The Lift – “The Lost Library” by K. B. Goddard

Seminar – “True Horror” by Jeffrey Bridges

The Junto Presents – “The Jack Of Lanterns” by David Parkin

The Wicked Library – “Shadows” by K. B. Goddard

The Junto Presents – “The Ghosts Of Christmas Eve: Tiny Tim” by David Parkin


Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Novella Form)

Six Stories, Told at Night by KT Bryski

The Gray Area by Edward Champion

The Alien Adventures of Finn Caspian by Typedrawer Media


Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Short Form)

Punch It: Writing in Pop Culture  – “The Last Will Be First” by Tristan Riddell & The Girl

The Theater in Your Mind – “Anything Helps” by Jon Holland

The Junto Presents – “Driver For The Dead” by David Parkin

Campfire Radio Theater – “Abduction at Willow Woods” by John Ballentine

Campfire Radio Theater – “Woods Ferry” by John Ballentine